Cerebus Fangirl Blog

Thursday, January 06, 2005

Snowy Morning

So we did get that 4 inches of snow last night. More like 5 inches, but enough to make a mess of the roads this morning on the way to work.

I woke up before 6am, lord knows what time i didn't look, to some idiot scraping his car windows. Great, I thought, I'm going to have fun doing that before I head off to work this morning. Then the apartment complex's plows came by - again and again and again. Thanks for clearing the parking lot, and for waking me up with that racket. seesh.

So I got up early, figured I could use the extra time to scrape my windows off, and drive a bit slowly to work. So I leave the apartment at 6:30am and head off for work. And lo and behold, Idiot #1 today: the guy scraping: the snow was thick, heavy, but there was no ice any where. what the hell was he scraping?

whatever. So I make it out the parking lot and onto the roads. Which weren't that bad - a bit slushy but alright. Then to the next town, the roads were still slushy, and then into the next town, where there was packed snow on the roads.

And hello Idiot #2: I was following behind some guy in a SUV who was only doing 25 - 30 mph. About right for the driving conditions. Then Idiot #2 who had been following me for about the last five miles passed me and was quickly catching up on the guy ahead of me and was going to pass him too - but, hahhahah, a school bus stopped in front of him so he had to pull in behind the school bus ahead of the SUV driver .

What kinda of Jackass passes someone when it is snowing and the roads are packed snow? A mile or so up the road some car had hit a tree and was shot to heck. I was hoping it was Idiot #2, no such luck.

Luckily, two idiots were all that I had to deal with this morning.

Leaving for work a bit earlier then usual, coupled with the snow - the sky wasn't too light yet and everything had a blue tinge to it.